CSCI 127

Syllabus

Date Lecture Topic Computing Topic Graded Event
Wednesday, January 10
Thursday, January 11
Friday, January 12
Data Types
 
Turtle Graphics
 
 
Growth Mindset
 
No Lab!
 
Monday, January 15
Wednesday, January 17
Thursday, January 18
Friday, January 19
Martin Luther King Day - No Class!
Turtle Graphics Events
 
Modules
 
 
 
Government Analytics
 
 
Lab 1
 
Monday, January 22
Wednesday, January 24
Thursday, January 25
Friday, January 26
Functions
Selection
 
Iteration
 
 
 
Equifax Data Breach
 
 
Lab 2
Program 1
Monday, January 29
Wednesday, January 31
Thursday, February 1
Friday, February 2
Strings
Recursion
 
Lists
 
 
 
Information and Communication
 
 
Lab 3
 
Monday, February 5
Wednesday, February 7
Thursday, February 8
Friday, February 9
Lists
Lists
 
Review
 
 
 
Value of Diversity
 
 
Lab 4
Program 2
Monday, February 12
Wednesday, February 14
Thursday, February 15
Friday, February 16
Practicum 1
Practicum Solution
 
Files
 
 
 
Anticipating Failure: Chaos Monkey
Practicum 1 - 15%
 
Lab 5
 
Monday, February 19
Wednesday, February 21
Thursday, February 22
Friday, February 23
President's Day - No Class!
Files
 
Files
 
 
 
Satya Nadella
 
 
Lab 6
 
Monday, February 26
Wednesday, February 28
Thursday, March 1
Friday, March 2
Dictionaries
Dictionaries
 
Dictionaries
 
 
 
What's There To Fear About AI?
 
 
Lab 7
Program 3
Monday, March 5
Wednesday, March 7
Thursday, March 8
Friday, March 9
Object Oriented Basics
Object Oriented Basics
 
Object Oriented Basics
 
 
 
Robots at School
 
 
Lab 8
 
Monday, March 12
Wednesday, March 14
Thursday, March 15
Friday, March 16
Spring Break - No Class!
Spring Break - No Class!
Spring Break - No Class!
Spring Break - No Class!
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Monday, March 19
Wednesday, March 21
Thursday, March 22
Friday, March 23
More Object Orientation
More Object Orientation
 
More Object Orientation
 
 
 
Spring Semester Registration
 
 
Lab 9
Program 4
Monday, March 26
Wednesday, March 28
Thursday, March 29
Friday, March 30
Review
Practicum 2
 
University Day - No Class!
The Deep Web
 
 
 
 
Practicum 2 - 15%
Lab 10
 
Monday, April 2
Wednesday, April 4
Thursday, April 5
Friday, April 6
Practicum Solution
NumPy Module
 
NumPy Module
 
 
 
Two-Factor Authentication
 
 
Lab 11
 
Monday, April 9
Wednesday, April 11
Thursday, April 12
Friday, April 13
NumPy Module
matplotlib Module
 
matplotlib Module
 
 
 
2016 Election Hacking
 
 
Lab 12
Program 5
Monday, April 16
Wednesday, April 18
Thursday, April 19
Friday, April 20
matplotlib Module
pandas Module
 
pandas Module
 
 
 
2018 Technology Trends
 
 
Lab 13
 
Monday, April 23
Wednesday, April 25
Thursday, April 26
Friday, April 27
pandas Module
scikit-learn Module
 
Review
 
 
 
Elon Musk Success Secrets
 
 
Lab 14
Program 6
Thursday, May 3 Final Practicum, 6:00 p.m. - 7:50 p.m.   Practicum 3 - 25%

Additional Information

Last modified: April 27, 2018.