Brendan Mumey


Professor of Computer Science

Gianforte School of Computing
Montana State University

E-mail: brendan.mumey (at)
Office hours here



  • Ph.D., Computer Science and Engineering, University of Washington, 1997
  • M.Sc., Computer Science, University of British Columbia, 1992
  • B.Sc. (Honors), Mathematics, University of Alberta, 1990

Brief Bio

Besides my university activities, I enjoy exploring the mountains around Bozeman and elsewhere with my wife Susan and our two kids. We also enjoy the excellent symphony and opera in Bozeman and I like to play bridge when I can find the time.


My research interests are broadly in applied algorithms, with specific interests in computational biology and networks-related problems.  Current projects include:

  • Pangenomic data analysis: joint with Indika Kahanda (Univ. North Florida), Thiru Ramaraj (DePaul Univ.), Alan Cleary (National Center for Genome Resources) and Joann Mudge (National Center for Genome Resources)
  • Metabolic network analysis: joint with Ron June (MSU) and Ross Carlson (MSU)
  • Network flow decomposition problems: joint with Lucia Williams (MSU)
  • Biofilm-related data models: joint with David Millman (MSU)

Most of my publications can be found via: Google scholarResearchGate.

Current Students

  • Lucia Williams, Ph.D.
  • Nathaniel Lane, Ph.D. (co-advised with Indika Kahanda)
  • Buwani Manuweera, M.S. (co-advised with Indika Kahanda)

Prospective graduate students with strong computer science or math background are welcome to contact me via email about potential opportunities in my lab.

Past Students

  • Danial Salinas, Ph.D. 2018 (Assistant Professor at Westminster College)
  • Alan Cleary, Ph.D. 2018 (Research Scientist at National Center for Genome Resources)
  • Sean Yaw, Ph.D. 2017 (Assistant Professor at Montana State University)
  • Mohammadbagher Parsa, M.Sc. 2017 (Neuralynx, Inc.)
  • Ivan Judson, Ph.D. 2013 (Microsoft)
  • Thiru Ramaraj, Ph.D. 2010 (Assistant Professor at DePaul University)
  • Timothy Hahn, Ph.D. 2010 (Raytheon)
  • Neeraj Gurdasani, M.S. 2009 (Trade Risk Guarantee)
  • Nathaniel Ohler, M.S. 2006 (Oracle)
  • Vijay Raghavan, M.S. 2006 (Harvard Medical School)
  • Alok Gondhalekar, M.S. 2006
  • Gaurav Dawra, M.S. 2005 (Cisco)
  • Weihua Zhang, M.S. 2004 (Oracle)
  • Sean Lambert, M.S. 2004
  • Rebecca Ericson, M.S. 2002
  • Julie Taubman, M.S. 2001 (National Institute of Health)

(Past students: please get in touch and let me know what you’re doing)